Nigeria’s U-23 national team coach Samson Siasia on Friday released his 35-man provisional squad for the football tournament of the Rio Olympics.

Included in the squad expected to be trimmed to 21 include the trio of Mikel Obi, Odion Ighalo, and Alex Iwobi, although the availability of these players are in doubt. scooped that Manchester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho who made the cut will not be released by City as manager Pep Guardiola begins his reins at Etihad Stadium.

Mikel Obi, Odion Ighalo, and Alex Iwobi, are in the 35-man Olympics list, which Samson Siasia, head coach of the U-23 team, released on Friday.

The list is expected to be trimmed down to 21 ahead the competition, which kicks off in Rio, Brazil, on August 5.

However the likes of Kenneth Omeruo, Ogenekaro Etebo, Musa Muhammed, Stanley Amuzie, Kingsley Madu, Erhun Obanor, Junior Ajayi and Taiwo Awoniyi are expected to be named in the final squad following the approval of their clubs to represent Nigeria.

The football tournament of the Olympics are held outside the FIFA calendar.  Nigeria will face Sweden, Colombia and Japan in Group B of the preliminary round of Rio 2016.

Siasia led the Nigerian Squad to pick a silver medal at that competition in 2008 when Beijing hosted. Interestingly Siasia will set up a pre-Olympics camp in Atlanta, the city that hosted in 1996 when Nigeria became the first black nation to win the Olympics.

the Nigeria Football Federation confirmed that there would be a friendly match between the Nigeria Olympic team and the U-23 national team of Mexico in Mexico on Saturday, 2nd July. The match will take place at the Aguascalientes Stadium, home ground of newly promoted top tier club, Necaxa FC, and is scheduled to start at 8.30pm Mexican time.

The NFF also announced that after the friendly, the Nigeria U23 squad will continue their training camp in the United States of America and will play Charleston Battery FC in Atlanta on Saturday, 16th July. A game against the Honduras U23 team is also being planned for 27th July.

Below is the Nigeria U-23’s 35-man list:

Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa FC, South Africa)
Yusuf Bala (Kano Pillars)
Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers)
Taiwo Abdulrahman (Kwara United)
Ndubuisi Agu (FC Porto, Portugal)
Junior Ajayi (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia)
Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal),
Taiwo Awoniyi (Frankfurt FC, Germany)
Okechukwu Azubuike (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey)
Etor Daniel (Enyimba FC)
Augustine Dimgba (Sunshine Stars)
William Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway)
Saturday Erimuya (Kayseri Erciyespor, Turkey)
Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense FC, Portugal)
Imoh Ezekiel (Anderlecht, Belgium)
Saviour Godwin (Ostende, Belgium)
Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England)
Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England)
Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)
Emiloju Julius (MFM FC)
Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)
John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England)
Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey)
Usman Muhammed (CF Uniao, Portugal)
Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium)
Erhun Obanor (MFM FC)
Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey)
Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England)
Sodiq Saliu (Seraing FC, Belgium)
Abdullahi Shehu (CF Uniao, Portugal)
Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)
Seth Sincere (Rhapsody FC)
Ndifreke Udo (Abia Warriors)
Aminu Umar (Osmalispor, Turkey)
Sadiq Umar (AS Roma, Italy)