European champions Real Madrid and city rivals Atletico Madrid will not be able to sign new players until 2018 after FIFA imposed a ban on both clubs following failed appeals.

“The FIFA Appeal Committee has decided to reject the appeals lodged by Spanish clubs Atlético de Madrid and Real
Madrid and to confirm in their entirety the decisions rendered by the FIFA Disciplinary Committee in the respective
cases relating to the protection of minors,” the world football governing body announced on their website on

“As such, both clubs are to serve a transfer ban that prevents them from registering any players at national and
international level for the next two complete and consecutive registration periods for breaching articles 5, 9, 19
and 19b as well as annexes 2 and 3 of the Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players (the “Regulations”). The
transfer ban applies to each club as a whole – with the exception of the women’s, futsal and beach soccer teams –
and does not prevent the release of players.

“Additionally, Atlético de Madrid and Real Madrid have been fined CHF 900,000 and CHF 360,000 respectively, while
both clubs have been issued with a reprimand and a warning and given 90 days in which to regularise the situation of
all minor players concerned.

“The grounds of the decisions taken by the FIFA Appeal Committee were communicated to the parties concerned today.”

Real Madrid have however vowed to appeal the decision at the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Another Spanish club Barcelona were also banned from transfers a few seasons ago.