The draws for the playoffs in the European zone of the 2018 World Cup was held on Tuesday with the fixtures between Italy and Sweden headlining the draws.

Four-times world champions Italy were drawn against Sweden on Tuesday in their two-legged playoff for a place at next year’s World Cup.

Italy, who last failed to qualify for the World Cup in 1958, will play the second leg at home in the most eye-catching of the four ties.

Switzerland, who finished second in their qualifying group despite winning nine of their 10 games, were drawn against Northern Ireland, who last qualified in 1986, with the first match in Belfast.

Croatia, runners-up behind Iceland in their group, will face Greece with the first leg at home.

The fourth tie pits Ireland against Denmark, who hosts the first match.



Northern Ireland vs Switzerland

Croatia vs Greece

Denmark vs Ireland

Sweden vs Italy


Two-legged ties to be played Nov. 9-11 and Nov. 12-14