-Gernot Rhor Loses Best Coach Prize To Egypt’s Hector Cuper

Egyptian footballer Mohmammed Salah has been named African footballer of the year ahead of Liverpool teammate and Senegal’s Sadio Mane & Gabon and Borrusia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick  Aubameyang.

In second position was Mane while 2015 winner  Aubameyang was third.

Salah becomes the first Egyptian since Mahmoud El Khatib in 1983 (when the award was organised by France Football magazine) to be crowned African best player.

In the category for the Women’s Player of the Year award, Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala emerged the winner, thereby retaining her title which she won in 2016 and has now won it three times (2014, 2016, 2017).

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr lost to Argentina and Egypt coach Hector Cuper in the Coach of the Year category while the Pharoahs of Egypt who qualified for the 2018 FIFA World Cup and were finalist at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations won National Team of the Year.

The Women’s National Team of the Year went to South Africa,  2017 CAF Champions League winners Wydad Casablanca of Morocco got the Club of the Year award.

Zambia’s Patson Daka was presented with the Youth Player of the Year award, Legends Award went to Ibrahim Sunday of Ghana who won the CAF Player of the Year in 1971.

Ahmed Yahya was awarded with Leader of the Year and President of Ghana Nana Akufo-Addo and newly elected President of Liberia George Weah were awarded with Platinum Award.

As Part of events to mark the 2017 CAF awards, past winners of the CAF Player of the Year Award were present.

Top African music stars like Nigeria’s Tiwa Savage, Phyno, Flavour, Wizkid, Olamide, Patoranking and Fali Ipupa of Democratic Republic of Congo were on hand to entertain the guests.


2017 CAF Award Winners:

Men’s Player of the Year:

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year:

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Women’s National Team of the Year:

South Africa

Coach of the Year:

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

National Team of the Year:


Club of the Year:

Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year:

Patson Daka (Zambia and Liefering)

CAF Legends Award:

Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

Leader of the Year:

Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)

Platinum Award:

Nana Akufo-Addo (President of Ghana)

George Weah     (President of Liberia)