The Nigeria Football Federation have announced the Super Eagles 30-man provisional roster for the 2018 World Cup.

German football tactician Gernot Rohr has named World Cup veterans Victor Moses, Elderson Echiejile, Ahmed Musa, Kenneth Omeruo, John Obi Mikel and Eddy Onazi for the provisional squad ahead of the start of a training camp.

Crotone’s Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo has been rewarded for his brilliant form in recent weeks with Rohr including him on the roster and another newcomer, Kano Pillars striker Junior Lokosa.

The duo will face competition from ex-Watford star Odion Ighalo, Leicester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa, Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi, Gent’s Moses Simon and Chelsea’s Victor Moses for a place in the final 23-man squad.

The Super Eagles will face Democratic Republic of Congo, England and Czech Republic in friendly matches before their trip to Russia for the World Cup.


Nigeria’s Provisional Roster


Goalkeepers (4): Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa), Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)

Defenders (10): Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria)

Midfielders (8): Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

Forwards (8): Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy)


Ifeanyi Emmanuel