Troost Ekong against Argentina in a friendly

Argentina manager Jorge Sampaoli named on Monday afternoon his final 23-man roster for the 2018 World Cup.

The squad is led by Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi, and also includes Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero, Manchester United pair Sergio Romero and Marcos Rojo, West Ham’s Manuel Lanzini plus Chelsea goalkeeper Willy Caballero.

The roster contains three goalkeepers, six defenders, nine midfielders and five strikers including Juventus pair Gonzalo Higuain and Paulo Dybala.

Franco Armani (River Plate), Maxi Meza (Independiente) and Cristian Pavon (Boca Juniors) are the three Argentinian-based players selected.

Argentina have been drawn alongside Croatia, Iceland and Nigeria in a tricky Group D and face the Super Eagles for the fifth time in the World Cup at Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg on June 26.

Argentina Final World Cup Roster

Goalkeepers : Sergio Romero (Manchester United), Franco Armani (River Plate), Willy Caballero (Chelsea)

Defenders :  Gabriel Mercado (Sevilla), Federico Fazio (Roma), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Cristian Ansaldi (Inter Milan), Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax) and Marcos Rojo (Manchester United)

Midfielders : Ever Banega (Sevilla), Javier Mascherano (Hebei China Fortune), Eduardo Salvio (Benfica), Lucas Biglia (AC Milan), Angel Di Maria (PSG), Gio Lo Celso (PSG), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Maxi Meza (Independiente) and Marcos Acuna (Sporting Lisbon)

Strikers : Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus), Cristian Pavon (Boca Juniors) and Paulo Dybala (Juventus)