Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has announced a 24-man roster for the upcoming 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Seychelles early next month.

An analysis of the roster revealed that three goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders and seven strikers have been selected for the trip to Seychelles and a planned friendly against Saudi Arabia.

Benfica newbie Tyronne Ebuehi and Bursapor defender Abdullahi Shehu are still recovering from injuries and were omitted from the squad list announced on Friday, while captain Obi Mikel who recently returned to Tianjin Teda starting lineup after recovering from injury has been left out.

Chelsea loanee Ola Aina, who narrowly missed out on the 2018 World Cup roster, is in line to earn his fifth senior cap for Nigeria against Seychelles after making the latest roster but his Blues teammate Victor Moses has not been invited, having called time on his international career.

Uche Agbo (Standard Liege), Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv), Blessing Eleke (Luzern) and Musa Mohammed (HNK Gorica) have been placed on standby.

Nigeria 22-Man Squad Vs Seychelles 

Goalkeepers (3): Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defenders (8): Ola Aina, Bryan Idowu, William Ekong, Leon Balogun, Chidozie Awaziem, Kenneth Omeruo, Jamilu Collins, Semi Ajayi

Midfielders (6): Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Nwakali, Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joel Obi

Strikers ( 7) : Odion Ighalo, Simeon Nwankwo, Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Samuel Kalu, Henry Onyekuru


Ifeanyi Emmanuel is the editor of